Policy Tracker Budget Tracker Price Tracker About SIVIO

Liberalising airwaves by allowing new players in the mobile telecoms sector and promoting the adoption of modern technologies.


Eight (8) More Community Radio Stations Licensed



Sept. 18, 2021

The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe (BAZ) has licensed eight more community radio stations.

Previous Updates

ZACRAS Pleads With Govt For Opening Of Airwaves



May 4, 2021

The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe licensed six community, campus radio stations and six television stations in 2020

The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe (BAZ) has called for Broadcasting Services License Applications



Feb. 20, 2020

The Zimbabwean government has issued a call for applications for broadcasting services licenses in three categories: free-to-air national commercial television broadcasting, free-to-air community radio broadcasting, and university radio stations. The authority will issue six (6) national commercial television licenses, ten community radio licenses, and 19 college radio licenses.

Removal of AIPPA



July 2, 2020

The  Freedom of Information Bill became law after being gazetted following the approval of the final amended version from Parliament by President Mnangagwa.

Digital Broadcasting Migration Project



April 16, 2021

Launch of the Zimbabwe Digital Broadcasting Migration Project (DTT) in Magunje. According to government through the Zimbabwe Digital Broadcasting Migration Project #DTTProject, citizens will enjoy access to twelve (12) Free-to-Air digital television services in Zimbabwe.

Commencement of Issuance of 40 Community Radio Licences



Sept. 2, 2019

Government has started working on licensing 40 community radio stations countrywide as it steps up efforts to achieve total broadcasting coverage, an official has said. Secretary for Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Mr Nick Mangwana said they would start with radio stations that would broadcast in vernacular languages before moving to other categories. He was speaking in an interview in Beitbridge yesterday, on the sidelines of a community sensitisation meeting on the setting up of such radio stations. It is understood that the Venda (Beitbridge), Shangani (Chiredzi), Ndau (Chipinge), Kalanga (Plumtree) and Tonga (Binga) will benefit in the first phase.